Early Years Foundation Stage 


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.


 Peter Rabbit Nursery follows the EYFS framework.  We are totally committed and dedicated to providing a fun, stimulating and educational environment for your child.

Prime Areas 

The three prime areas reflect the key skills and capacities that all children need to develop and learn effectively, and become ready for school. These three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.


  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, social and emotional development


For our youngest children we focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning on the four specific areas. As the children grow in confidence and ability within the three prime areas will shift to a more equal focus on all prime and specific areas of learning.

Specific Areas


We also support children in the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

These specific areas are:


  • Literacy

  • Math’s

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive arts and design


Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult led and child initiated activity, we recognizing each child’s individual needs.